A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Paula D. Ashe

blog header cwifPaula D. Ashe

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…)

Hello! I’m Paula. I’m a writer of dark fiction. I primarily write short stories, novellas, novels, and graphic novels.

Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

Everything I write is dark in some vein. I used to be a real hard-ass about being known as a horror writer but I also write sci-fi, fantasy, and erotica, all with a dark bent.

Do you/Would you ever write under a male pseudonym? Why or why not?

I can’t say I NEVER would, but I haven’t so far. Male or female, I don’t really get the appeal of pseudonyms. Writing is hard as hell; I want people to recognize MY name on it! I have heard some women writers state that publishing under a male name has sometimes resulted in more sales and positive reviews. I would potentially publish something under a male pseudonym just to test the phenomenon.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently:

I was REALLY impressed by Lily Childs’ “Cabaret of Dread Vol. 1” and Chantal Noordeloos’ “Deeply Twisted”. I also enjoyed Trent Zelazny’s “People Person” and the dark poetry of Roger Cowin and Vincenzo Bilof.

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

Lame, I know, but that title has to go to my mom. She’s always been supportive even if she doesn’t fully understand (or like) everything I write.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

Finish everything you write. Embrace the philosophy of the shitty first draft. Not every piece you write deserves to be published, however, not every publication is deserving of your work.

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

I’m on a writing hiatus until mid-May when the academic year ends. However, I’m looking forward to putting together an anthology over the summer that will include a sequel to “Mater Nihil” from FOUR GHOSTS.

Where can we find you?

four ghosts cover

CLICK TO BUY FOUR GHOSTS

Website: www.pauladashe.net

Twitter: @pauladashe

Facebook: facebook.com/pauladashe

Paula D. Ashe is a native Ohioan who came to Indiana in search of a flatter landscape. She is an English professor at Ivy Tech Community College and a PhD student in the American Studies program at Purdue University. A member of the Horror Writers Association, her award winning dark fiction has been published in Nexus Literary Magazine, the Indiana Science Fiction Anthology 2011, Indiana Crime 2012, and Indiana Horror 2012. She also has stories appearing in Serial Killers: Iterum and Hell. Her first supernatural novella “Mater Nihil”, was included in JWKFiction’s Four Ghosts anthology with William Cook, Murphy Edwards, and Christine Sutton. Paula lives with her wife and far too many pets in Northeast Indiana.

One response

  1. Pingback: Books, Babes, and the Business: Celebrate Women in Horror 2014! | dust and shadow

Leave a Reply

