A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Chantal Noordeloos

blog header cwifChantal Noordeloos

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…) 

Stories have always appealed to me, and I’ve been a Storyteller for as far as I can remember. Even before I could hold a pen, I would create make belief worlds, and entertain (or annoy, depending on who you ask) my friends and family with them. When I was 15 I realized I wanted to be a writer ‘when I grew up’, but it took me twenty one years to take the step to actually pursue my dream.

Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

I’m what I call a ‘genre floozy’, which means I have troubles staying ‘faithful’ to one genre. My ‘go to genre’ is horror, and in a way it’s my biggest love. I guess I like to give people a bit of a scare. But I write all sorts of speculative fiction, and my latest ‘rump in the hay’ has been with Steampunk.

Do you/Would you ever write under a male pseudonym? Why or why not?

I don’t think I will, I’m proud to be a woman. (Not that I think there is anything wrong with men –au contraire- I love them, but I don’t feel the need to ‘be’ one.) I know it can really help in certain genres, but I am not a big fan of pennames.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently:

I’m a very big fan of Neil Gaiman. Sometimes you find that writer that seems to be able to look into your very soul, and write the stories that you need to hear. Gaiman is that writer for me. I’ve recently read Ocean at the end of the Lane, and reread Good Omens, which he wrote with one of my other heroes ‘Terry Pratchett’. If we’re talking more specifically female, I’d say J.K. Rowling has a special place in my heart. I think she’s a great role model for women writers.

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

Pffft, this is a tough one. I come from a line of very hard working females, so I guess I get my perseverance from them. To be honest I’ve shaped my work ethics and methods from trial and error. If I would name anyone who has shaped my work, and my vision on writing, I would have to give some credit to Apple Ardent Scott. She inspires me and always knows how to ask the right questions. Apple brings out the best in me.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

I’d first tell myself off for several other things –one being the clothes I used to wear- and then I’d sit myself down, and do the ‘grave motherly face’ thing. I would clear my throat and tell that naïve, wide-eyed version of me: “Trust your own instinct a little more, and don’t just go along with what someone else says, just because they sound like they know what they’re talking about.” And then I’d box me around the ears for that time I got very drunk and passed out in my friend’s bathroom.

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

*eye twinkles* Yes, I have many, recently I’ve felt like a bit of a mad scientist concocting all these different plots and plans. I love it, keeps me busy and I like being busy. The first thing that should come out should be the first story in the ‘Even Hell Has Standards’ series. It’s called ‘Pride’. I’m going to tell seven stories –each named after a sin- that all revolve around my version of ‘Hell’. They will deal with the darkness of humanity. It’s an ambitious project, and a little scary.

I’m also working on a YA Dark Fantasy novel, and the second novel in my Coyote series. A lot of projects surround the latter, like a comic book that I’m working on with Paul Chapman, and even a ‘hidden objects game’.

Where can we find you? 

CLICK TO BUY COYOTE

CLICK TO BUY COYOTE

Well, I live on Facebook, so you can always find me here: https://www.facebook.com/ChantalNoordeloosStoryteller

I try to Tweet (though I feel like a voice screaming in a room filled with voices): @C_Noordeloos

Am an Amazonian too (no not the female tribe…): http://www.amazon.com/Chantal-Noordeloos/e/B009XUB50W/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

And of course Goodreads should be in this mix: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6564843.Chantal_Noordeloos

IMG_6178Chantal Noordeloos lives in the Netherlands, where she spends her time with her wacky, supportive husband, and outrageously cunning daughter, who is growing up to be a supervillain. When she is not busy exploring interesting new realities, or arguing with characters (aka writing), she likes to dabble in drawing. In 1999 she graduated from the Norwich School of Art and Design, where she focused mostly on creative writing. There are many genres that Chantal likes to explore in her writing. Currently Sci-fi Steampunk is one of her favourites, but her ‘go to’ genre will always be horror. “It helps being scared of everything; that gives me plenty of inspiration,” she says. Chantal likes to write for all ages, and storytelling is the element of writing that she enjoys most. “Writing should be an escape from everyday life, and I like to provide people with new places to escape to, and new people to meet.”

Leave a Reply

