A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Leslie Whitaker

blog header cwifLeslie Whitaker

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…)

I am really a Release Party Planner. I know, different. I started my journey as a reader. After joining Facebook, I found HP Mallory. I had been reading her books and really enjoyed them. I was so excited to see that not only did she have a page, but she talked with her fans! I felt like I was talking to a celebrity! Through her, I meet JR Rain. He introduced me to HT Night, Aiden James, and Scott Nicholson. It was on their pages I met Rhonda Plumhoff, Sara Wales and Bine Pe. We wanted a place to be able to chat about our favorite authors and share their books with other fans without taking over the authors page. We contacted JR, HT, Aiden and Scott and asked is we could set up the pages. They didn’t mind, so we set them up. As the pages grew, we wanted to celebrate the release of new books. Rhonda started making awesome swag and I started doing the parties. I set up an event and host with the author. I keep the party moving forward with games and posts while the author has a chance to stop and chat with people at the party. It has become a great way to get interest and initial sales of new books. Several authors have told me that they feel their initial sales took off because of the parties. I hope so! That is my goal, to help authors get their books out to readers and help them get more fans.

Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

No, I have done parties for Horror, Romance, YA…

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read.

I love paranormal, mystery and romance. I just finished the second book by Aiden James and Lisa Collcutt, The Serendipitous Curse – Reviled. I am doing some beta reading for a couple authors. I love JR Ward (Black Dagger Brotherhood), Jim Butcher (Dresden Files), JR Rain (Samantha Moon), Jaime Johnessee, (Bob the Zombie), Christine Sutton (Everything), Aiden James (Cade’s Cove, Ghosthunters, Nick Caine), Ian Woodhead (ZA series), Jennifer Estep (Elemental Assassin series), Kelley Armstrong (Otherworld series)… I have lots of favorites.. 🙂

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work

My mother was a huge influence on me. She loved to laugh and always had a positive outlook. I try to do the same. I have met several women authors on Facebook and each and everyone of them is amazing to me. They all have different stories and they inspire me to achieve.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

Read. Read. Read. I didn’t start reading until about 4 years ago and I regret what I have missed out on….

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

We have an awesome party coming on the 28th celebrating the wonderful Babes of Books!

Where can we find you? 
On FACEBOOK

leslie whitakerLeslie is a California girl and has two awesome sisters and beautiful nieces that she loves dearly. She is also a huge animal lover and has been to every Disney Park in the world!

Leave a Reply

