A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Jaime Hobbes

blog header cwifJaime Hobbes

Please tell us a little bit about yourself…

I’m a reader, mainly. Married to a writer. I work part time for a small press, Hobbes End Publishing, that my husband originally founded in 2005. I do a little bit of everything: read submissions, edit, social media, author relations, you name it. I also have an obsession with Doctor Who and binge watching TV shows on Netflix. But again, I’m primarily a reader. I also beta read for some of my author friends and write the occasional review.

Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

The press publishes fiction, mainly horror, science fiction, and fantasy. As a reader, I am a genre whore who will read anything well-written and intriguing.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently.

I have a mad love affair going on with the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. I am currently listening to the audio books, and this is my fourth journey to the Tower. I recently read the Metatron Series by James Glass and was highly entertained.  I also adore the Bob the Zombie series by Jaime JohneseeAllison M. Dickson has quickly become one of my favorites, as well. I will read anything that woman puts out there (and have!).

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

Easy. My mother and my grandmother. My mom is one of the most hard-working people I have ever met. And generous. And loving. And supportive. My grandmother was the kindest woman I have ever known. They influenced me in so many ways. To work harder, to believe in myself, to never give up. To follow my dreams.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

That’s kind of tough. Growing up I never saw myself going into the publishing industry. Getting paid to read? Never even occurred to me. But I would tell my younger self to pick a different major in college! Also, I would inform her all about eBooks and to make sure to get on top of that immediately.

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

The press has lots of projects coming up. We have a the first in a YA series coming out soon, an amazing horror novel by David Bright, and the much anticipated release of The Last Supper by Allison M. Dickson. HEP will soon announce another book release that is still in the contractual phase, but one I personally am very excited about. As for myself, I am participating in The Doctor Who project with some friends and trying to get some book reviews written.

Where can we find you?

Hobbes End Links:

http://hobbesendpublishing.com/

https://twitter.com/hobbesend

https://www.facebook.com/hobbesend

My blog: http://jaimelynhobbes.wordpress.com/

The Doctor Who Project: http://www.allisonmdickson.com/p/doctor-who-project.html

About Jaime Hobbes

JH HeadshotJaime Hobbes is an avid reader and works behind the scenes at Hobbes End Publishing. As a book-lover, she was overjoyed to marry a writer. Jaime does a little bit of everything for the press, and serves as a personal assistant to her husband Vincent Hobbes. Reading is and always will be her number one obsession. She also likes to watch movies, obsess over TV shows on Netflix, plan her dream home on Pinterest, and spend time with her family. Oh, and coffee. That plays a major role in her life as well.

***************************HEP logo black

One response

  1. Pingback: Books, Babes, and the Business | Jaime: One Book at a Time

Leave a Reply

