A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Leigh M. Lane

blog header cwifLeigh M. Lane

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…) Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

I consider myself a horror novelist above all else, although some of my dystopian work straddles the fence between sci-fi and horror and I do also write short stories and screenplays. I write both psychological and paranormal horror, but I must say I prefer psychological monsters over the paranormal ones. I also do some editing.

Do you/Would you ever write under a male pseudonym? Why or why not?

I’ve considered it, but I don’t think it’s something I’d actually ever do. In our current climate, with so many women striving to prove themselves as valuable contributors to the genre, it would be counterproductive to give in to the mindset that only men can sell good horror. I would rather suffer the setbacks that come with being female than succeed on the basis that readers believe my work was written by a man. I am who I am, and I’m willing to do whatever it takes to prove I’m much more than just a pretty face.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently:

The books I’ve enjoyed most recently are Deeply Twisted, a short story collection by Chantal Noordelos, Deathwatch, by Lisa Mannetti, and People Person, by Trent Zelazny. I recommend all three.

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

Lisa Mannetti has by far been my greatest personal influence. She’s a neat woman and an exceptional horror writer. She has helped me to become more detail oriented in my writing, and she’s living proof that the glass ceiling that continues to hover over us is not shatterproof.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

Go back to school sooner than later. Take some time to learn your craft before jumping head-first into those shark-infested waters. Don’t be too eager to make a sale; don’t be afraid to reject that contract on the grounds of some iffy clauses. Above all else, have confidence in yourself!

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

I have one novel I’m currently shopping and another I’m in the process of editing, and I also have an episodic novella series I’m hoping will find a good home sometime soon. My short story “Mused” is set to be published through Calidum Magazine sometime this month.

Where can we find you? 

Website: http://www.cerebralwriter.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Leigh-M.-Lane/e/B0055DSE6Y

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLeighMLane

Twitter: @LeighMLane

llLeigh M. Lane has been writing for over twenty years. She has ten published novels and twelve published short stories divided among different genre-specific pseudonyms. She is married to editor Thomas B. Lane, Jr. and currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada. Her traditional Gothic horror novel, Finding Poe, was a finalist in the 2013 EPIC Awards in horror.

Leave a Reply

