A Literary Micro-Press

Books, Babes, and the Business: Audrey Lynn Brennan

blog header cwifAudrey Lynn Brennan

Describe yo’self.

I’ve had a passion for reading, writing, and art, ever since I can remember. Although I’m still very new to the business, I would describe myself primarily as an illustrator/artist. I work a little bit behind the scenes for Sekhmet Press, also doing some editing, which I find strangely satisfying – possibly because I can never seem to stop compulsively editing everything I hear or read in my head. In the future I would like to also someday publish some of my writing.

Specific genre?

So far I’ve been drawn to working on strange, dark, and surreal pieces. I love anything that lingers in my mind, especially in that twilight between consciousness and dreams. That’s the feeling I want to try to capture in my work. That being said, as I mentioned, I am still very new to the fiction world, so there are still many genres I would like to explore. I think romance illustration could be scandalously fun, for example.

Do you moonlight as a man? Why/why not?

I never have used a male pseudonym, and currently have no plans to do so in the future. It’s possible I may decide to give it a try as an experiment one day, to see what kind of different audience my work would attract based on a difference as small as a name.

Favorite/recent books or authors?

Neil Gaiman is my hero. Especially for his novel American Gods, and his graphic novel series The Sandman – which is also worth checking out for the stunning artwork by Dave McKean and a host of others. I can’t even begin to explain why and how much I love this stuff without dissolving into a rambling mess of rabid enthusiasm. If you haven’t read them, please do.

Recently I’ve also been enjoying George R. R. Martin’s epic fantasy saga, A Song of Ice and Fire. I have to admit I am slightly embarrassed to confess to loving something so mainstream and trendy at the moment, but fantasy was what originally made me fall in love with reading as a child. I remember spending hours and hours on end as a little girl curled up with C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia, Brian Jaques Redwall series, and later on the Harry Potter books by J. K. Rowling and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. As an adult, I don’t think I’ve ever fallen into a fantasy world the way I remember being affected by those books as a child, until I started reading ASOIF when I was suffering withdrawal after the second season of HBO’s A Game of Thrones ended.

 Advise yo’ baby self.

The biggest piece of advice I would give my younger self is not to get intimidated by perfectionism before even starting a project. This is still something I struggle with – I have a hard time even starting anything without feeling completely sure that I have enough time, all at once, to complete it to my standards. There have also been so many times I’ve completely scrapped something I’m working on because it doesn’t look perfect when it’s only 10% complete. When I can listen to the rational part of my mind, I know that work evolves on the page. Nothing starts out perfect. Unrealistic expectations just hold you back.

Current projects and shit.

I’m really excited about the upcoming horror novella I’m illustrating, A Piece of Miracle by Patrick C. Greene. (you can see a test cover below) Look for it this Fall. In addition, I’m currently growing a real live human being in my guts – coming out in early May!

 mir3editB

Find Audrey

CalliopeFading.com

Facebook

Twitter

Tumblr

****

audrey1I’ve had a love affair with all things creative throughout my whole life. As a kid, I was a total bookworm. I’ve always had a passion for painting and drawing as well, and in high school I attended a magnet school for visual and performing arts, where I became heavily involved in theater and dance. I studied fine art and illustration in college, and now work as an editor and illustrator for Sekhmet Press with the amazing Jennifer L. Greene. I hope to transition to that being my full time job, but presently I must confess to still bartending part time to pay the bills.

One response

  1. Pingback: Books, Babes, and the Business: Audrey Lynn Brennan | Calliope Fading

Leave a Reply

