Books, Babes, and the Business: Jennifer Wilson

Celebrating Women in Fiction

blog header cwifJennifer Wilson

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…) Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

I am co-owner of Nightscape Press. I’m an avid reader – and it’s been phenomenal being able to be part of putting out amazing works into the world for people to read. We classify ourselves as a horror press, but we are open to all works with a dark element, be they dark fantasy, dark science fiction, et cetera.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently:

I love the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

I’m a little late to the game, but I’ve recently been checking out Peter Straub’s works.

And since we’re examining women in fiction this month, some of my favorite female authors are Rena Mason, Lisa Mannetti, Katharine Kerr, Anne Bishop, and Juliet Marillier.

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

The most influential female in my personal life is my grandmother, Ninette Troxell. Even though she is no longer with us, she taught me so much about what it means to be a strong woman.  I learned so much from her growing up about life and love.  She is by far the measurement by which I live my life and try to do all in by personal and work life to make her proud.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

The one piece of advice I would give my younger self is to speak up and not be worried about what others think — No one else has experienced the unique world I have lived in quite the same and others may be able to gain something from what I have to say.  This is not to say that it isn’t important to be mindful of what I am putting out there, but to trust that I have a valid opinion to share with the world.

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

We have several books that will be out this year (some announced and some not) that I’m really excited about. One I would like everyone to check out, even though it’s not specifically horror, is Fantasy For Good: A Charitable Anthology. This book, while not technically part of a series, is the next book in what I’ll call the movement that started with Horror For Good. HFG continues to raise money for amfAR (an international AIDS research charity) and FFG will be donating all proceeds to the Colon Cancer Alliance, a charity doing amazing things in education and research for colon cancer. We are fortunate enough to have stories from some huge names in the fantasy world such as George RR Martin, Neil Gaiman, Piers Anthony, and many, many more.

(You can find out more at http://www.richardsalter.com/fantasyforgood/ and http://www.facebook.com/fantasyforgood)

Where can we find you? 

Nightscape Press’s website is http://www.nightscapepress.com,

we can be found on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/nightscapepress,

we’re on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/nightscapepress,

and our Amazon storefront is http://www.amazon.com/nightscape-press

Jennifer WilsonJennifer M. Wilson is Co-Owner and Director of Proofreading for Nightscape Press. Having been through eight years of Advanced/Honors English coursework, she has a sharp eye for grammatical detail and takes a solid critical approach to style and the mechanics of prose when proofreading.

Jennifer is a lover of music and a voracious reader across many genres with a high standard of taste. She works as a transcriptionist and has nearly completed her undergraduate degree in Biology, with the ambition of pursing work in genetic research. She lives in Middle Tennessee with her husband, two kids, and German Shepherd.

Leave a comment