Books, Babes, and the Business: Billie Sue Mosiman

Celebrating Women in Fiction

blog header cwifBillie Sue Mosiman

Please tell us a little bit about yourself… (would you describe yourself primarily as a writer, publisher, editor, artist, radio talk show host…) Do you focus on a specific genre with your work?

I’m a writer. I write suspense and horror. I like the dark side.

Do you/Would you ever write under a male pseudonym? Why or why not?

I decided early on not to do that. I’d keep the Billie Sue, though it was so very Southern, and my husband’s last name. I have recently published three e-book short stories under a male pseudonym to test something out for myself. The male name gets no promotion, ever. No tweets, no Facebook links, no one knows his name, since he does not exist in reality. He has no track record, no other works attributed to him, no friends or family. Yet his little stories sold great at first and now they sell regularly, month after month. What does my experiment say to me? I’m not finished experimenting. As the three stories are zombie tales, I will want to write a crime story and another horror story of a different sort and see what happens with them. But I do find it strange a non-person, without promotion, without even a blog or a friend in the world, buried beneath hundreds of thousands of zombie books and stories, sells regularly. Is it the male name? Obviously so since I wrote the stories no differently than I write my stories under my own name. You decide.

Name a few of your favorite books/authors you’ve read recently:

Roh Morgan, Trent Zelazny, Michael Reaves, Joe McKinney, Lori Lopez, Kat Yares, Catie Rhodes, Franklin Wales, Stephen King.

Who has been the most influential female in your personal life and how have they shaped your work?

My grandmother, Naomi Robinson, was the most influential woman in my life. The only way she shaped my work is by always telling me, “You’re good as the best and better than the rest.” She gave me confidence.

If you could give your younger self one piece of advice relating to the business what would it be?

Don’t be too eager. Take more time. Hold publishers back from pushing too hard for the next book.

Do you have a current project or upcoming project you would like to tell us about?

Post Mortem Press will publish my next novel of suspense, THE GREY MATTER, in April or May this year. I’m very excited about it.

Where can we find you? 

banished cover

CLICK to BUY

*****

Twitter: @billiemosiman

 

Blog: http://www.peculiarwriter.blogspot.com

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Billie-Sue-Mosiman/e/B000AQ0Z5E

 

*****

 

bs mosimanAuthor of more than 60 books on Amazon, I am a thriller, suspense, and horror novelist, a short fiction writer, and a lover of words. In a diary when I was thirteen years old I wrote, “I want to grow up to be a writer.” It seems that was always my course. My books have been published since 1984 and two of them received an Edgar Award Nomination for best novel and a Bram Stoker Award Nomination for most superior novel. I have been a regular contributor to a myriad of anthologies and magazines, with more than 160 short stories published. My work has been in such diverse publications as Horror Show Magazine and Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. I taught writing for Writer’s Digest and for AOL online, and gave writing workshops locally in Texas. I was an assistant editor at a Houston literary magazine and co-edited several trade paperback anthologies with Martin Greenberg. My latest work in paperback and Kindle digital is SINISTER-Tales of Dread, a compilation of fourteen new short stories all written in 2013.

Recently I’ve sold short stories to the anthologies BETTER WEIRD edited by Paul F. Olson from Cemetery Dance, ALLEGORIES OF THE TAROT edited by Annetta Ribken, FRESH FEAR edited by William Cook, WRAPPED IN RED edited by Jennifer Greene, and SOMEONE WICKED edited by Weldon Burge. My latest suspense novel, THE GREY MATTER, will be published by Post Mortem Press by May 2014.

One thought on “Books, Babes, and the Business: Billie Sue Mosiman

Leave a comment